Users

Note

System users can only be managed by a person with the Org Admin role.

If you have an Admin role, you will be presented with a menu of options for each user who is displayed.

../_images/system_user_options.png

Figure 1. List of users, including options for editing or deleting a user.

Deleting Users

If you delete a user, you have the option of specifying another user to take ownership of the deleted user’s resources.

Transfer of Ownership

Note

Deleting a user is not reversible. Before deleting a user, be sure you know how their projects and data will be reassigned.

After a user account is deleted, all the user’s projects and data are transferred to a selected user. The new owner may have an admin or non-admin user role.

Special Considerations about Projects

The transfer of ownership of projects and data is immediate unless a project is not shared with the new owner. In that case, it might take a few minutes to update the name of the new project owner. Any data generated by another user in the deleted account will also be transferred.

Projects and data that were transferred to a new owner will be labeled as (from…) or (deleted from…).

Where to Find Transferred Data

The deleted user’s data are handled in the following ways.

  • All data stored in the My Data folder in the deleted user account are transferred to a folder in Shared Spaces. These data are shared only with the new owner.

  • All data stored in the Team Data folder in the deleted user account remain in the Team Data folder.

  • All data stored in Shared Spaces in the deleted user account remain in Shared Spaces with the same sharing permissions.

Deleting a User

Navigate to the System Information page. Click on the Users tab. Search by username or email, or filter by role.

Active users cannot be deleted, and the delete button is disabled for them. The trash icon is highlighted for inactive users, allowing them to be deleted.

../_images/system_cannot_delete_active.png

Figure 2. The delete button is unavailable for active users.

To remove an inactive user, click on the “Delete” option. The following dialog box appears.

../_images/system_Delete_user_popup.png

Figure 3. Preparing to delete a user and reassign ownership.

Deletion of a user cannot be undone. You are asked to confirm in this dialog and to specify a new owner. First, check the “Continue with deleting process” checkbox. Select the new owner of the projects and data. Only one user can be selected. Finally, check the “Enable delete” checkbox and click the “Delete User” button.